New roadshow visits locations across England to help locals get work ready

Street entertainers are swapping music and magic for CVs and interview tips to offer help to jobseekers across England during the coming months.

learndirect has launched the roadshow to help give people the skills needed to get back into work.  Locals will be entertained by the free live performances and get handy tips to tackle common issues when looking for jobs – including writing a CV, interview tips and how to prepare for an interview.

The event takes place following the launch of a new report by learndirect – Work ready? Get fit for the job – which shows how jobseekers don’t have a good understanding of the types of skills employers are looking for.

learndirect is hoping the roadshow will encourage people to think about how getting the right skills could help them improve their job prospects.

Peter Shufflebotham, head of learning at learndirect said: “People who are looking for work know how difficult it can be to get across their skills to prospective employers. We’re hoping the learndirect roadshow will be a fun event for local people which will provide them with some handy hints for getting that dream job.

“At learndirect we can help people to brush up on their skills and qualifications, which can boost confidence levels and improve career prospects.”

Dave Taylor, one of the roadshow performers, said: “We’re really excited to be bringing the learndirect roadshow to towns across England, meeting local people and sharing our passion for getting people back into work.  We’re going to have a lot of fun bringing employability skills to life and proving that things like job interviews and writing a CV definitely don’t have to be scary.”

The learndirect roadshow will visit the following locations between 10am and 4pm each day, with many more still to be announced!

Monday, 30 April – Cornhill Square, Ipswich
Tuesday, 1 May – The Howard Centre, Bedford
Wednesday, 2 May – White Lion Sqaure, Hatfield
Thursday, 3 May – Red Lion Shopping Precinct, Colchester
Friday, 4 May – Outside West Quay Shopping Centre, Southampton
Wednesday, 9 May – Risman Place Shopping Centre, Workington
Thursday, 10 May – Williamson Square, Liverpool
Friday, 11 May – Liscard Place, Wallasey
Monday, 14 May – Westfield Shopping Centre, Derby
Tuesday, 15 May – Old Square Shopping Centre, Walsall
Wednesday, 16 May – Grosvenor Centre on Abingdon Street, Northampton
Thursday, 17 May – Outside central library, Coventry
Monday, 21 May – Northpoint Shopping Centre, Hull
Tuesday, 22 May – Merrion Shopping Centre, Leeds
Wednesday, 23 May – Northumberland Street, Newcastle
Thursday, 24 May – Jackson Street, Gateshead
Friday, 25 May – Pedestrian area where Linthorpe Road and Corporation Road cross, Middlesbrough
Wednesday, 6 June – Bristol Broadmead